Skip to content

Waiver Reimagine topics:

Common questions

Here, find common questions about Waiver Reimagine.

Waiver Reimagine is a project that will simplify the waiver system and create more options for people who use disability waiver services. The first phase of Waiver Reimagine simplified and expanded services across the four disability waiver programs. This took effect in January 2021.

With these changes, 12 similar services were simplified into six new service categories. During your next annual reassessment or during a service change, you may notice there are new names of services or new service options available.

The services and supports you receive won’t change. You will still have your annual assessment and need to be determined eligible for specific services.

The name of certain services might change. Some services may be called a new name and others may be combined together. After your annual assessment, the names of services you’re eligible to receive may look different.

For some people living in residential settings, the skills development support they used to receive from an Independent Living Skills provider will change to their current residential provider. 

You do not need to do anything different. Continue to meet with your provider or case manager as you usually do. If you have questions about changes to your services, reach out to your support team, including family members, friends, advocacy organizations, providers or case managers.

The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) needs approval from the state and federal government to move forward with next steps in this project. The state has approved the project and DHS is now working for approval from the federal government.

Waivers are a way to pay for home and community-based services (HCBS) that support you to live in the community rather than an institution. They help you take part in community activities and support you at work. Currently, the four disability waivers are Brain Injury (BI), Community Alternative Care (CAC), Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) and Developmental Disabilities (DD).

Next: Scenarios »